Author Topic: Wheels and lift?  (Read 2378 times)

Offline Craig333

Wheels and lift?
« on: 03/22/09 - 10:04PM »
After my first try at wheeling here. I now know I will need to custom my jeep. So I need to know what size wheels I will need, I know 33's would most likely be the best way to go. But what size can I get away with and still enjoy the rocky wheeling around here. And what size lift will i need. Can you tell I'm new to this :105:

its a 93 Jeep
« Last Edit: 03/22/09 - 10:06PM by Craig333 »

Offline YJ_Aaron

• Level 5
  • Jeep @ Disney
Re: Wheels and lift?
« Reply #1 on: 03/22/09 - 10:20PM »
33's are a good place to start with 15x8 or 15x10 wheels depending on width of the tires you buy.  Another good place to start is a simple 4" suspension lift.  I'd recommend either BDS or Rubicon Express.

http://www.4wheelerssupply.com/catalog/index.php/cPath/471_1_36_46

Is it possible for a jeep to ever truely be finished?<br /><br />Only the dead have seen the end of war---Plato

Offline Bradman

• Level 4
  • II've got a buzz and a woody, and I'm ready to go!
« Reply #2 on: 03/22/09 - 10:32PM »
Body protection, and skid plates.  Theese are as important as any lift.  Rock sliders, bumpers, stering, engine, and gas tank skids would all be smart.

1999 TJ  2.5 inch Rancho Rockrawler lift  33inch BFG's  Loc-Rites front and rear!<br /><br />Ranch Rocker!<br />http://smorr.net/images/ranch_rockers_avatar50.png

Offline Craig333

« Reply #3 on: 03/22/09 - 10:53PM »
Could I still run the wheels I have with the 4" lift kit? I now I will not be able to do all at one time.

Offline YJ_Aaron

• Level 5
  • Jeep @ Disney
« Reply #4 on: 03/22/09 - 11:15PM »
I haven't seen your jeep so I can't tell you that. However you can keep your wheels and stock tires, and when you upgrade tires go to a 33x10.50x15 and keep factory style wheels.