Author Topic: LCA with SYE?  (Read 1887 times)

Offline DKR

• Level 2
LCA with SYE?
« on: 10/16/05 - 02:26PM »
I was reading a write up on http://www.4x4xplor.com/tj.html for an installation of an Advance Adapters Slip Yoke Eliminator that I'm considering buying. Everything was about as expected, but in the parts needed area it talks about needing rear adj control arms to do this.

I'm not a pro, but it didn't make sense to me.  :confused:

Can someone explain why I would need to buy control arms for a slip yoke eliminator? Thanks!
kr
[TJ] 3" BDS, 33" Super Swampers, Banks power, K&N

Offline bradrenea

• Level 2
Re: LCA with SYE?
« Reply #1 on: 10/16/05 - 10:53PM »
It's probably  needed so you can change your pinion angle. CV style driveshafts require a different pinion angle than standard driveshafts. Without the adjustable LCA you won't be able to change it for the new shaft. If I remember correctly from when I installed the SYE in my old XJ the pumpkin is supposed to be tilted up so there is no driveline angle at all. Hope that makes sense.
8 XJ with stuff (Brad's)
96 XJ with stuff (Renea's)

Offline DKR

• Level 2
« Reply #2 on: 10/18/05 - 06:57PM »
Does the pinion have to be rotated?  I'm doing a belly up flat skid plate and will have a longer driveshaft that should meet up with the pumpkin without changes, right?  Or am I thinking totally wrong?  Sorry if I am, This part of the mechanics is totally new to me.
kr

Offline bradrenea

• Level 2
« Reply #3 on: 10/18/05 - 08:22PM »
On my cherokee I did not get real crazy about getting it perfect. My dad put the SYE kit on his and had to change the shims in the leafs a few times to get it right. He's pretty picky about any vibration though, I just wanted mine close enough that the u-joints did not go out all the time.