Author Topic: possible carb problem? fuel filter maybe?  (Read 1844 times)

Offline NixaYJ

• Level 1
possible carb problem? fuel filter maybe?
« on: 03/14/07 - 03:54PM »
I'm a noob, so be patient please.

I've had my 89 YJ almost 3 weeks now, I drove it from Kentucky 300 miles home without any problems.  

I have noticed it doesn't start very well sometimes after it's been sitting on a slope - last night I drove to the Nixa Community Center, came home and parked in the driveway, with a very slight slope.  Cleaned up the garage for maybe 10 minutes then went to restart the jeep and pull it in the garage, it would not fire up, I let it roll into the street and it quickly fired up, with some light blue smoke from the exhaust to show for it.  

Then I've had the following happen twice - after starting it up in the garage, then driving to Springfield along 160, the engine suddenly shuts off.  I quickly restart it and then it's fine, no more problems.  The 2 times that has happened - the spots are within 1/4 mile of each other.

Any thoughts?

Offline OJTV8CJ

• Charter Members
  • Level 4
Re: possible carb problem? fuel filter maybe?
« Reply #1 on: 03/14/07 - 04:11PM »
Does it have a Crank Position Sensor?  If it does I vote that.
I cut sheetmetal for free.  It's fixing it that get's expensive.

Offline LibertyPatriot

• I vote for BACON!
  • Charter Members
  • Level 5
  • Web Wheeler!
« Reply #2 on: 03/14/07 - 05:20PM »
Monte,

I vote for the Carter BBD carb computer is going south.  Many people to the Nutter Bypass and that seems to help.  Others, like Allen, have switched to a Motorcraft 2100 carb.  Some a Weber carb.  I guess it all has to do with what engine you have though, or these suggestions may not matter at all.

Keith
I'd put something funny here, but you probably wouldn't get it anyway...

Offline cpj

• Level 2
« Reply #3 on: 03/14/07 - 07:06PM »