Author Topic: Shop in Springfield, MO for Engine work?  (Read 3366 times)

Offline SkylineTj

• Level 1
Shop in Springfield, MO for Engine work?
« on: 09/19/12 - 12:30PM »
Hey guys, I recently bought a 2000 Wrangler Sport with the 4.0 and it has a few problems I would like to have taken care of.
It overheats, misfires, and has coolant in the oil.
My Aunt and Uncle, the previous owners who bought it brand new, had the radiator and thermostat housing replaced due to small leaks, and the spark plugs and head gasket replaced.
To me, it sounds like it could be a cracked/warped head, but I would like to know for sure.

I'd like to find a shop that is familiar with the 4.0 and can tear into it and let me know exactly what's wrong and get it fixed without breaking the bank too bad, lol.

I have my degree in automotive, but I don't have the time, facility, or tools to be able to tackle it.

Offline YJ_Aaron

• Level 5
  • Jeep @ Disney
Re: Shop in Springfield, MO for Engine work?
« Reply #1 on: 09/19/12 - 01:18PM »
I would consider Safari Off-Road in Nixa for it.
Is it possible for a jeep to ever truely be finished?<br /><br />Only the dead have seen the end of war---Plato

Offline Donut

• Level 1
« Reply #2 on: 09/20/12 - 12:59AM »
Try Tailpipers in Billings. They handle everything from oil changes to working on race cars. Their number is 417-744-2273, talk to a guy named Brad or Gil tell them that Daryl recommend them to you. They'll work out a deal with you.

Offline SkylineTj

• Level 1
« Reply #3 on: 09/22/12 - 02:17AM »
Ended up taking it to Rick's Automotive in Springfield at Sunshine/Campbell, because I didn't trust driving it any further.

I did the after hours drop-off last night and they started diagnosing it around noon today and called to give me an update anytime they found out something new.