Author Topic: Linksys router problems  (Read 2120 times)

Offline LibertyPatriot

• I vote for BACON!
  • Charter Members
  • Level 5
  • Web Wheeler!
Linksys router problems
« on: 02/21/07 - 01:53PM »
I've been using a Linksys wireless-G router for a couple of years now.   Lately, the signal strength is very low to none.  Before I've had anywhere from 33Mbps to 54Mbps most of the time.  Now for some reason, I'm getting from 2Mbps to 11Mbps and will sometimes kick me off completely.  Also, I have an Ipaq handheld with WiFi and it won't connnect anymore, but it will connect at other hot spots in town.

Is my WiFi going south?  I don't want to go buy another one if there's is something I can do.  Do consumer units typically fail over time?

TIA,
Keith
I'd put something funny here, but you probably wouldn't get it anyway...

Offline LibertyPatriot

• I vote for BACON!
  • Charter Members
  • Level 5
  • Web Wheeler!
Re: Linksys router problems
« Reply #1 on: 02/21/07 - 03:16PM »
Went home at lunch and tried hitting the reset button on the back of the router.  Got the iPAQ to connect and got my iMac to connect via Cat 5 and finally got the notebook PC to connect when I dissconnected the wireless connection and then reconnected to the WiFi.  Got it to come in at 54Mbps.  I took it accross the house and fired up ABC.com and watched According to Jim.  It only hicupped once when the microwave was running and the PC was within 10 feet.  There must be something interfering with the connection.

Still though, what's the lifespan of a Wireless-G router?

Offline LoneWolf

• Level 5
« Reply #2 on: 02/21/07 - 05:05PM »